Thomas McGuire, PhD

Thomas G. McGuire is Professor of Health Economics in the Department of Health Care Policy and a Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research. His research focuses on the design and impact of health care payment systems, the economics of health care disparities, the economics of mental health policy, and drug regulation and payment. McGuire has contributed to the theory of physician, hospital, and health plan payment. His research on health care disparities includes developing approaches to defining and measuring disparities. For more than 35 years, McGuire has conducted academic and policy research on the economics of mental health. His research on drug regulation focuses on brand-generic competition.  His undergraduate degree is from Princeton and his PhD is from Yale, both in economics.

In 2008, McGuire received the Everett Mendelsohn Excellence in Mentoring Award from Harvard’s Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. He is a recipient of the Elizur Wright Award from the American Association of Risk and Insurance for his book, Financing Psychotherapy, the Arrow Award from the International Health Economics Association, and the Carl Taube Award from the American Public Health Association. He also received awards for paper of the year in 2008 from Academy Health and the National Institute of Health Care Management (NIHCM). He is the lead author of a paper on risk adjustment selected by the NIHCM for the paper of the year award for 2013. A coauthored paper on patent settlements in the pharmaceutical industry was named the best paper of the year in the International Journal of the Economics of Business. He has co-chaired four NIMH-sponsored conferences on the Economics of Mental Health, and was a coeditor of the Handbook of Health Economics Volume 2.  McGuire is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and recently completed ten years as an editor of the Journal of Health Economics. He is the 2018 recipient of the Victor Fuchs Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society of Health Economics for significant lifetime contributions to the field of health economics.


  • Publications
  • Honors & Awards
  • Websites
  • CV

Honors and Awards

2008 -  National Institute for Health Care Management Paper of the Year

2008 -  AcademyHealth Article of the Year Award

2008 - Everett Mendelsohn Excellence in Mentoring Award

1997 - Kenneth J. Arrow Award for Best Paper published in Health Economics

1994-1996 - Investigator Award in Health Policy - Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

1991 - Carl A. Taube Award for outstanding contributions to mental health services research American Public Health Association

1989-1994, 1994-1999 - Research Scientist Award - National Institute for Mental Health

1983- Elizur Wright Award for an outstanding contribution to the literature on risk and insurance (Financing Psychotherapy) American Risk and Insurance Association

1979 - Abt Prize for Research on National Policy Issues

Associated Websites