Thomas McGuire, PhD

Thomas G. McGuire, PhD, is a professor of health economics in the Department of Health Care Policy at Harvard Medical School and a research associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research. His research focuses on the design and impact of health care payment systems, the economics of health care disparities, and the economics of mental health policy and drug regulation and payment. Dr. McGuire has also contributed to the theory of physician, hospital, and health plan payment. His research on health care disparities includes developing approaches to defining and measuring disparities, and studying the theory and measurement of provider discrimination. For more than 35 years, Dr. McGuire has conducted academic and policy research on the economics of mental health. His research on drug regulation focuses on brand-generic competition.
In 2008, he received the Everett Mendelsohn Excellence in Mentoring Award from Harvard’s Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. He is a recipient of the Elizur Wright Award from the American Association of Risk and Insurance for his book, Financing Psychotherapy, the Arrow Award from the International Health Economics Association, and the Carl Taube Award from the American Public Health Association. He also received awards for paper of the year in 2008 from Academy Health and the National Institute of Health Care Management (NIHCM). He is also the lead author of a paper on risk adjustment selected by the NIHCM for the paper of the year award for 2013. A coauthored paper on patent settlements in the pharmaceutical industry was named the best paper of the year in the International Journal of the Economics of Business. He has co-chaired four NIMH-sponsored conferences on the Economics of Mental Health, and was a coeditor of the Handbook of Health Economics Volume 2, published in 2012. McGuire is a member of the National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine) and recently completed ten years as an editor of the Journal of Health Economics
  • Publications
  • Honors & Awards
  • Websites
  • CV

Honors and Awards

2008 -  National Institute for Health Care Management Paper of the Year

2008 -  AcademyHealth Article of the Year Award

2008 - Everett Mendelsohn Excellence in Mentoring Award

1997 - Kenneth J. Arrow Award for Best Paper published in Health Economics

1994-1996 - Investigator Award in Health Policy - Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

1991 - Carl A. Taube Award for outstanding contributions to mental health services research American Public Health Association

1989-1994, 1994-1999 - Research Scientist Award - National Institute for Mental Health

1983- Elizur Wright Award for an outstanding contribution to the literature on risk and insurance (Financing Psychotherapy) American Risk and Insurance Association

1979 - Abt Prize for Research on National Policy Issues

Associated Websites