Thomas McGuire, PhD

Thomas G. McGuire, PhD, is a professor of health economics in the Department of Health Care Policy at Harvard Medical School. His research focuses on the design and impact of health care payment systems, the economics of health care disparities, and the economics of mental health policy. Dr. McGuire has contributed to the theory of physician, hospital, and health plan payment. His research on health care disparities includes developing approaches to defining and measuring disparities, and study of the theory and measurement of provider discrimination. For more than 30 years, Dr. McGuire has conducted academic and policy research on the economics of mental health.

Two jointly authored papers received “best paper of the year” awards for 2008, from Academy Health for work on physician-patient interaction and from the National Institute for Health Care Management for work on incentives in managed care plans.  Also in 2008, he received the Everett Mendelsohn Excellence in Mentoring Award from Harvard’s Graduate School of Arts and Sciences.  He is a recipient of the Elizur Wright Award from the American Association of Risk and Insurance, the Arrow Award from the International Health Economics Association, and the Carl Taube Award from the American Public Health Association. Dr. McGuire is a member of the Institute of Medicine.

Dr. McGuire received his BA degree from Princeton University and his PhD degree in economics from Yale University.  

Honors and Awards

2008 -  National Institute for Health Care Management Paper of the Year

2008 -  AcademyHealth Article of the Year Award

2008 - Everett Mendelsohn Excellence in Mentoring Award

1997 - Kenneth J. Arrow Award for Best Paper published in Health Economics

1994-1996 - Investigator Award in Health Policy - Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

1991 - Carl A. Taube Award for outstanding contributions to mental health services research American Public Health Association

1989-1994, 1994-1999 - Research Scientist Award - National Institute for Mental Health

1983- Elizur Wright Award for an outstanding contribution to the literature on risk and insurance (Financing Psychotherapy) American Risk and Insurance Association

1979 - Abt Prize for Research on National Policy Issues